Joseph Muscat wins the Sport Official of the Year 2020 Award

by Bernard Vassallo

It is good news this evening for the Malta Basketball Association as the Secretary General, Joseph Muscat, has just been named as the Sport Official of the Year for 2020 during the 61st edition of the SportMalta Awards Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali held a short while ago.

The final eight man sport journalist panel, representing the Malta Sport Writers Association, put forth their votes which were based on the sport outcomes of 2020 and here, amongst other things, Muscat’s extensive contribution to the completion of the structural project and total renovation of the basketball pavilion in Ta Qali surely played a big part.

At the end of the voting process in this category, Muscat emerged the winner of the Sport Official category ahead of the other two finalists this year, namely Andy Grech (Athletics) and Vincent Degiorgio (Pool).

With this achievement, Muscat has become the sixth basketball related person to win this Sport Official of the Year Award after Louis Borg (1974), Louis Micallef (1979), John Tabone (1991), Bernard Vassallo (2006) and Paul Sultana (2017)

Below are all the ‘basketball’ winners in the history of the Għażliet Sportivi Nazzjonali

Sportswoman of the Year

1980 Anna Felice

1981 Anna Calleja

2009 Rebecca Brincat

Sport Official of the Year

1974 Louis Borg

1979 Louis Micallef

1987 Louis Borg

1991 John Tabone

2006 Bernard Vassallo

2017 Paul Sultana

2020 Joseph Muscat

Team of the Year

2003 Women National Team

2009 Women National Team

2018 Basketball – Tim Nazzjonali Irġiel

Coach of the Year

2017 Angela Adamoli

Sport Event of the Year

2008 M.B.A. FIBA Conference

2015 M.B.A. FIBA European Conference