About us

The Malta Basketball Association (MBA) was formed in March 1964, when the first meeting of the MBA was held at the Civil Services Sports Club, Valletta, under the chairmanship of Benny Pace.

A month later, in April 1964, the first Annual General Meeting of the Association was held at the Malta Union of Teachers Headquarters, Merchants Street, Valletta.
The MBA then moved forward to affiliate itself with the Malta Olympic Committee (MOC) in October 1964.

The final of the first Knockout Competition, played at the Polytechnic outdoor-court Msida, was played in May 1966 and won by Mundlos TC.

The first national Basketball League was played in the indoor hall of the Msida Primary School with ten teams participating. Mundlos, coached by Tony Micallef Borg, were the first League Champions in 1967. In April 1967, the first edition of the American Ambassador’s Trophy Tournament was held at the Luqa gym.  R.A.F. (Luqa) were the first winners.

The Malta Basketball Association affiliates with the International Amateur Basketball Federation (FIBA) in August 1967.